Ever Wonder Where Your Old Data Goes When You Delete It?

Where Your Old Data Goes When You Delete It

If you have ever wondered where the deleted data on your computer goes, Geeks on Site has the answer. Don’t be fooled into thinking that just because you have deleted a document or other data on your computer, it can never be found again. It’s not that simple. In fact, it will vary somewhat whether your computer has a standard hard drive or a solid-state drive (SSD) but here’s an overview.

Where Does Your Deleted Data Go?

  1. You input data and store it in a file on your computer.
  2. You delete the file.
  3. Depending on your operating system, the deleted data then moves to either your computer’s Recycle Bin or Trash. You will be able to see that it contains your deleted files and recover them, if necessary.
  4. When you empty the documents or files contained in the Recycle Bin or Trash, they are then truly deleted. Once the documents are deleted, your computer cannot see or read the data and it no longer has space reserved for these files.
  5. Recovering this data is still possible if you use data recovery software. If you need to recover a file at this point, the best thing to do is to stop using the computer (so you don’t risk losing it forever) and contact a data recovery specialist.
  6. Data recovery is less likely to work if you have saved other data or files on top of the old ones – hence, stop using the computer if you think you deleted something you shouldn’t have.
  7. If you need to permanently wipe your data, there are software programs that can help you do this but it’s important to be certain that you’d never need these documents or files again.

If you are having trouble retrieving deleted data or are concerned about deleting your documents permanently, Geeks on Site is here to help. Geeks on Site, a South Florida based company, has teams dedicated to providing on-site or remote computer repair and support services to homes and businesses nationwide. We offer a 7-day warranty on all of our services to ensure you are happy with our work. Geeks on Site is available to assist with your deleted data concerns today. Just give us a call at (800) 360-4335 today.